The Carrotbox

The Carrotbox Jewellery Blog

Friday, October 15, 2021

Photos don't do this ring justice, much less screenshots of a video. So, please, visit Japan's Theta Glass Gallery and see the video in motion for a proper view of this stunning "Honeycomb" ring (there are two in the post). Also check out the video for their "Galaxy" ring, pictured below:

Thursday, October 14, 2021

Ring-Free Thursday: Italy's Barbara Paganin.

Wednesday, October 13, 2021

"Twister" rings with repurposed bottles by Maryland's Jowita Allen (whose recycling bin must be a lot more colourful than mine, because just look at those pretty hues).

Tuesday, October 12, 2021

Cogs, but make it fashion: Maryland metalsmith Mason Feyz creates a statement piece by applying snake scales to an industrial shape.

Monday, October 11, 2021

Cozy up to these alpaca wool rings by Argentina's Adriana Gómez.

Friday, October 8, 2021

See the squeeze? These iron and balloon rings are a commentary on the housing problem in Brazil, where — like in many places around the world — those with money are forcing those without to move further and further outside the city. To see more, including non-rings from the same series, visit Brazilian jeweller, architect and urban planner Joana Gabos.

Thursday, October 7, 2021

Ring-Free Thursday: Japan's nemunemu (Mari Ito).

Wednesday, October 6, 2021

Massachusetts-based Michelle Yun uses "geometry as her ruler" while creating work that "embracess the essence of traditional Korean art."

Tuesday, October 5, 2021

Mesh rings by Bulgaria's Dayana Kazakova...

...who actually works mostly with metal. Visit her gallery to see more!

Monday, October 4, 2021

Italy's Lorenzo Pepe has such a distinct style that even with all these different shapes, each ring is so clearly his.

Friday, October 1, 2021

Transparent — but most decidedly not invisible — glass creations by Poland's Joanna Muzyka Studio.

Thursday, September 30, 2021

Ring-Free Thursday: Russia's Nikita Kavryzhkin.

Wednesday, September 29, 2021

It's a solitaire solitaire, aka the "Half Turn" ring.

For more, including the "Love Wars" series of rings, visit Japan's Sano Teruyuki.

Tuesday, September 28, 2021

Snakeskin ceramic? That might be a first here. I love the textures and glazes on these rings by the UK's Hannah Burroughs, whose main focus is actually animal sculptures (and pretty great ones, at that).

Monday, September 27, 2021

I guess these were cement to be: rings in cement, iron oxide, bronze powder and aquamarines by Romania's MusiDesign (Alexandrina Remescu).

Friday, September 24, 2021

Wasanbon, yatsuhashi, mizuyōkan — those are just some of the delectable motifs used by Japan's Desicco, who miniaturizes Kyoto confections and turns them into wearable art.

Thursday, September 23, 2021

Ring-Free Thursday: Quebec's Anne-Sophie Vallée.

Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Quick, someone invite me to an opening at an art gallery so I can wear something by Russia's Koókoozi (Anna Seredova).

Tuesday, September 21, 2021

A side of the solitaire we don't often see.

All rings above — and their playful settings — by the Czech Republic's kow (Jaroslav Kučera).

Monday, September 20, 2021

If you're supposed to accessorize for the job you want (that's how the saying goes, right?) and you have your sights set on "rock star," just turn to Australian designer Sumer Sayan and his label, Harlin Jones.

Friday, September 17, 2021

These flowers aren't just realistic — they're real. Hong Kong's Ohana encases dried pansies, hydrangeas and other species in clear resin, adding the occasional clear glass bubble to finish the piece.

Thursday, September 16, 2021

Ring-Free Thursday: Germany's William Rudolph Faulkner.

Wednesday, September 15, 2021

Currently coveting: gorgeous gems in organic, asymmetrical settings by Japan's Myacale.

Tuesday, September 14, 2021

"The Golden Geezer," "The Schnozzer" and "The Thin Crying Eyes" combine in this so-called "mesmerising monstrosity" of a stacking ring set by the UK's Rat Betty (Millie Hand)...

...who makes "the type of pieces she'd always wanted to wear and [had] never been able to find."

Monday, September 13, 2021

Jamaica's The Artistic Mermaid (Anna-K Cuffe) promotes coral reef conservation — mostly through her large ceramic sculptures but also with these rings.

Friday, September 10, 2021

Brooklyn-based Japanese artist Tomoya Nakagawa blurs what line there is between nail art and jewellery.

Thursday, September 9, 2021

Ring-Free Thursday: South Korea's Saerom Kong.

Wednesday, September 8, 2021

These rings from Poland's Manufaktura Porcelany feature clean lines and (often) monotone colours that aren't typical of the porcelain rings I usually see. Check them out not just for their rings but also for their cool cups and mugs!

Tuesday, September 7, 2021

I love how some of these rings look like arenas — if they were standing on end and filled with diamonds instead of spectators. For more, visit Japan's Masahiro Nakata, who's inspired by "structure... and repetitive pattern."

Monday, September 6, 2021

Porcelain rings by New York-based Austrian jeweller Stephanie Dubsky, who forms and glazes each piece by hand.

Friday, September 3, 2021

Welcome to the neighbourhood. It's a little blackened, a little Bauhaus and all by Israel's Etay Malka.

Thursday, September 2, 2021

Ring-Free Thursday: the UK's Faye Hall.

Wednesday, September 1, 2021

Every cloud may have a silver lining but the really good ones are adorned with chunks of raw amethyst.

All rings above by Israel's Sofi Goldberg.

«  Older