The Carrotbox

The Carrotbox Jewellery Blog

Monday, September 16, 2019

Check out Sweden's Dinea Design (Stefania Dinea), whose 3D printing work extends beyond jewellery and into architecture.

Friday, September 13, 2019

Portugal's Caio Mahin brings us — and I quote — "shady contemporary jewellery" for a little Friday fun.

Thursday, September 12, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Germany's Steffi Götze.

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

"Peking Opera" rings by Chinese jeweller Siting Zhan, featuring the vivid red and blue that are so prominent on its stage. Also see her Shanghai-inspired "Shikumen" series featuring wood, acrylic and photographs.

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Could you wear this ring...

...without spilling it? What looks like some kind of cabochon ring is actually a "watering." Check out German jeweller Regina Rupp for more.

Monday, September 9, 2019

The way these rings are arranged reminds me of ikebana, but with jewellery. For more, visit Lebanon's Rosa Maria Jewellery.

Friday, September 6, 2019

I was going to say this ring could replace the flashlight during hours of under-the-bedsheets reading — but then I remembered that Kindle has already done that. In any case, this ring was actually inspired by the similarity between a jeweller's bench lamp and a human's finger joints. For more interesting work, visit Rhode Island-based Yimei Hu.

Thursday, September 5, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Japan's Arro.

Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Philadelphia's Philip Ambrose puts a spin on ye olde cut-out coin ring by adding a coloured backdrop.

Tuesday, September 3, 2019

Kathy Kraus and the Irregular Polygons would make a great band name. Visit the German jeweller to view the full collection, featuring translucent agate and transparent stones.

Monday, September 2, 2019

Leather rings by Spain's Sabina Vargas, representing "an interaction between craft and industrial design."

Friday, August 30, 2019

For all those crying because it's the unofficial end of summer: UK-based Yanlong Duan is here for your tears with these cotton rings.

Thursday, August 29, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Tennessee's Adam Hawk.

Wednesday, August 28, 2019

The "Touch Me" rings by Brazil's IVI Designs (Ivi Pivetta Viero) are designed to help with anxiety by "controll[ing] fidgeting" and "self-destructive behaviors." There's a lot more to see, including a cute hand-shaped series, so go check it out.

Tuesday, August 27, 2019

South Korea's Keep'em embraces a "genderless" philosophy in their design.

Monday, August 26, 2019

A lovely mix of organic and geometric metal from Japan's Shindo Haruka (name in Japanese order).

Friday, August 23, 2019

I need not say more. Check out the UK's Bug (Ellie Ingram) if you need a reason to smile :)

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Japan's Kui Co., proving that resort style doesn't have to mean bright colours.

Wednesday, August 21, 2019

Minimalist (but not minimized) rings in acrylic and wood — and a matching manicure in photo #1. This gives me ideas. All pieces by Japan's mi2.

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Three-ring circus brought to you by Greek jeweller Ariadni Kypri.

Monday, August 19, 2019

These carved-out domes by Brazil's Brain for Rent (Renata Cesar Pereira) are actually 3D-printed — in biodegradable material, which is great, except for the part about rings decomposing, which is sad.

Friday, August 16, 2019

Scotland-based Adrienn Pesti may have made "Koosh ball chic" a thing with her creations in Silk Clay. Be sure to see the whole colourful collection!

Thursday, August 15, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Nevada's Millicent Dollhouse (Cadence Alexia).

Wednesday, August 14, 2019

Get in line with Japan's Litt Jewelry.

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Rings, 3D-printed and manipulated, by Switzerland's Digimorphé (Consuelo Keller).

Monday, August 12, 2019

Goldfish in bags (like this, not like this) instantly transport me to summer in Japan. As do these rings and beads by Tonbodama ["glass bead"] Kayo.

Above, just a few more glass rings by Iorinko, also of Japan.

Friday, August 9, 2019

I'll let Italy's Ylenia Deriu take us into the weekend with these words, describing her "Profile" series:

Time freezes. The memory of the past is embedded in an everlasting sprout of brass gems. The buzz of the city sleeps under a shining veil. Metal is everywhere, metal assaults the matter. Metal infests my hills and invades my cities, metal absorbs the places where I live.

Thursday, August 8, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Céline Charuau of France.

Wednesday, August 7, 2019

Just when I think these colours couldn't be more brilliant...

...they literally glow. I love these big cubic zirconia set in glass (some UV-reactive) by Michigan's White Chocolate Glass (Kristin Renee DeWulf).

Tuesday, August 6, 2019

Clear glass reveries with touches of gold by the aptly-named DayDream of Japan.

Monday, August 5, 2019

Dried but not dry: glass, fruit and florals by Japan's T.W.

Friday, August 2, 2019

With flowers and corals as her inspiration, Hungary's Eszter Valdhauser turns clay into these ceramic beauties.

Thursday, August 1, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: New York's Cat Merrick.

«  Older