The Carrotbox

The Carrotbox Jewellery Blog

Wednesday, September 30, 2020

Japan's Kitan Club elevates the faux-food ring by bringing the ring box into the act — so what would otherwise just be a salmon ring is actually salmon onigiri! (I'm partial to umeboshi, myself.) Check out the original set here and their latest version here.

Tuesday, September 29, 2020

"Smooth bone sprinkled with amethyst chips" almost sounds like something out of molecular gastronomy. But this is a jewellery blog, and these are rings by French designer Régis de Saintdo.

Monday, September 28, 2020

Rings with a lot to say...

...even if it's with an inside voice. For more, check out Beautiful Accidents (French jeweller Bruno Caby).

Friday, September 25, 2020

Is armadillic a word? These cool brass rings make me think of armadillos — or at least their tails. To see more, visit Russia's Natalia Petrikova.

Thursday, September 24, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: NMARRA (the UK's Jen Stewart).

Wednesday, September 23, 2020

Rings from Australian jeweller Eli Speaks' "Mexicali" series, which is "inspired by both Mayan and Art Deco architecture."

Tuesday, September 22, 2020

These "Hive" rings, featuring actual insects that have "lived out their lives in full as working urban honey bees," were "created to raise awareness of the decline in bee populations worldwide."

All rings above by the UK's Misan (Marie Rabe), whose work often features skulls as a motif.

Monday, September 21, 2020

Rings by Portugal's Bergue, self-described "jewellery tailors."

Friday, September 18, 2020

Dutch jeweller Inge Scharink makes 2020 feel just a little better with her whimsical yet well-crafted pieces, some of which are inspired by classical paintings.

Thursday, September 17, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: Ontario's Emma Gerard.

Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Black porcelain rings by French jeweller Camille Estivals.

Tuesday, September 15, 2020

"Unicorn hair" rings by Czech jeweller Petra Mohylova, whose other work is coated in colour — go have a look!

Monday, September 14, 2020

These "pavement" rings and recycled plastic rings are just some of the work from Argentina's Laura Leyt, whose pieces are 99% recycled material.

Friday, September 11, 2020

Not a ring.

And not a jeweller.

Just a whole lot of creative thinking and photgraphy by the UK's Vanessa McKeown.

Thursday, September 10, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: Argentina's Paloma Vega.

Wednesday, September 9, 2020

Wooden rings featuring Polaroids (top) and oil paintings (bottom) by French artist Louane Millie Schneider.

Tuesday, September 8, 2020

Sunken treasure chest vibes from Italy's Pilgiò Di Antonio Piluso.

Monday, September 7, 2020

I am aswoon over these spare yet striking rings (and half-rings) from French jeweller JEM (Jewellery Ethically Minded).

They also do engagement rings!

Friday, September 4, 2020

Visit Spanish artist Juanjo Garcia Martin for sculptural rings and brooches...

...that are often more than what first meets the eye.

Thursday, September 3, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: South Korea's JiYoung Kim.

Wednesday, September 2, 2020

Architectural and sculptural pieces by Spain's Gerard Valls.

Tuesday, September 1, 2020

September vibes from Ontario's Kathleen Searle.

Monday, August 31, 2020

Starting the week and ending the month with the rarity that is the paper mache ring! These two are so vernal, which is funny for a post on the unofficial summer/autumn cusp (in Canada, at least), but so be it. For more work in a variety of different styles, see Spain's Andrés González.

Friday, August 28, 2020

If ever there were a case of photos not doing the rings justice, this is it. To fully appreciate the works of UK-based Ieva Mikutaite, you really need to see them in motion, so go check out some (or all) of her many short videos.

Thursday, August 27, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: the UK's Haidée Drew.

Wednesday, August 26, 2020

Argentina's Mukenia (María Eugenia Ramos).

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

I see icy rings by Italy's Annamaria Pavone.

Monday, August 24, 2020

A signet with some edge — literally, in the form of an ouroboros.

If you're looking for a "future heirloom," California's Talon (Emily Hirsch) is a good place to start.

Friday, August 21, 2020

Glass rings with an inner glow(-in-the-dark) by Japan's Mokuren.

Don't miss their other work, including glass ear cuffs and these delectable studs.

Thursday, August 20, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: Georgia's Humans Before Handles (Ash Sims).

Wednesday, August 19, 2020

Don't fix it — it ain't broke. Not unintentionally, anyway. Russia's OSSA brings a little "antifashion" to your fingers with this eyecatching series.

Tuesday, August 18, 2020

Dreamy, cactus-inspired rings in pastel silicone and clay by Chinese jeweller Zhaoran He.

Monday, August 17, 2020

Rings from Kenya's Adele Dejak, makers of sustainable handmade jewellery.

Friday, August 14, 2020

From "Dust to Dust" by New Jersey's MJ Tyson. Be sure to check out her "Homes" sculpture series, in which the left-behind contents of houses are compacted into single blocks.

Thursday, August 13, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: Australia's Kingston Jewellery (Jemima Kingston).

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

French jewellers 22.77 have a bold but minimal style, some with a texture representing "a long way from clean shapes to chaos."

Tuesday, August 11, 2020

These rings look to me like someone's insouciant signature, the kind you get to have when there isn't a "t" to cross or an "i" to dot. For more minimal silver jewellery, see Japan's Little Riddle.

Monday, August 10, 2020

I love the cosmic look of this snake ring by Singapore's Ferne Atelier, who also made the ring holders (both in polymer clay; gold rings from By Invite Only). The main theme of their work, however, is botanical — as with these awesome turtle terrarium earrings!

Friday, August 7, 2020

Melanie Sherman is a "German ceramic artist living in Kansas City [Missouri], focusing on lavish surface decoration." These pretty designs are achieved by laying decals on porcelain.

Thursday, August 6, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: the UK's Laugahey (Kate Lau).

Wednesday, August 5, 2020

I love the way Russia's Legenti Jewelry (Alexander Varyag) makes use of colour-anodizing in his titanium rings.

Tuesday, August 4, 2020

Some fabulously chunky Lucite "anvil" rings by New York's Jorge Caicedo Montes de Oca, who normally repurposes old Bakelite to create contemporary jewellery over at The Art of Bakelite.

Monday, August 3, 2020

I don't think I even need to say that these rings come from Greece. What I will say is that they come from, more specifically, Kourtzis Art Pottery, a family business that's been around for 200 years and five generations!

«  Older