The Carrotbox

The Carrotbox Jewellery Blog

Friday, June 14, 2019

These imaginative rings aren't merely kinetic but also acoustic! Check out Thailand's Happies (Stamp Sangsuk-iam) for clapping hands, a cat that "purrs," a cake that whistles "happy birthday," and more.

Thursday, June 13, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Tatjana Giorgadse of Georgia (the country).

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

Japan's Beau Blue (Masumi Uno) makes what look like fairytale rings come to life.

Tuesday, June 11, 2019

Neutral, minimalist, yet striking pieces from Japan's ILF Jewelry.

Monday, June 10, 2019

When I was making glass rings, people sometimes asked me if it were possible to set diamonds in glass. This probably isn't what they had in mind, but it's one solution from Japan's Húgming.

Friday, June 7, 2019

Australia-based Chinese designer Xiaohui Yang makes the kind of jewellery you really need to experience first-hand but, as I'm an ocean away, I'll have to make do with these still images. You can, however, check her page for some videos.

Above: her "Self-Portrait Machine."

Thursday, June 6, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Australia's Denz + Co. (Kate and Luke Bordessa). If some of those faces look familiar, it's because they collaborated with last Thursday's Heidi Helyard.

Wednesday, June 5, 2019

Russia's Olga Oborotova uses air bubbles to her advantage in these pretty, refreshing glass rings.

Tuesday, June 4, 2019

A mix of new and vintage glass from Japan's Titti (Ai Aoki).

Monday, June 3, 2019

From one iconic Japanese triangle...

...to another.

Mount Fuji, onigiri (rice ball), and other rings from Japan's Sii Etoile.

Friday, May 31, 2019

I'm a very happy bunny today thanks to New York's Rabbitneck (Laura A. Tiffin). These graphic Lucite rings, inspired by the Swiss Style, are my newest obsession.

Thursday, May 30, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Australia's Heidi Helyard.

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

World Bling is... exactly that. Japan's Hiromichi Kamizono creates Swarovski globes so you can have the world on top of — if not wrapped around — your finger.

He also makes wood and resin rings!

Tuesday, May 28, 2019

Twofer Tuesday: E/L by Loretta...

...and Lilas, both from Japan.

Monday, May 27, 2019

I'd never expect cement and metal rings from a "Brutalist" series to look so springtimey! The UK's Amy Stringer "sets elements of nature such as moss into the cement, forging a connection between architecture and agriculture," resulting in the surprisingly pretty look.

Friday, May 24, 2019

The work of Germany's Jil Köhn ranges from man-made precision...

...to otherworldly etherealism.

Thursday, May 23, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Russia's Elena Saenko.

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

This signet might be a bit more classic compared to those of yesterday, but there's a twist.

Literally. The top twists open to reveal a second motif inside! To see more, check out DRU. Jewelry (California's Thea Miller).

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Signets don't have to be all staid seals and monograms — just check out New York's Jessica Biales.

Monday, May 20, 2019

It's even worse when you don't store your jewellery in the fridge: "expired" rings by UK-based Chinese artist Yichen Dong.

Friday, May 17, 2019

"Face à face" ring by Berlin-based French jeweller Emilie Le Dez, who has a lot of rings featuring that shallow satellite shape.

Thursday, May 16, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Italy's Mezzopiano (Luisa Littarru).

Wednesday, May 15, 2019

In creating this steel jewellery, Toronto's Alex Kinsley Vey was inspired by the industrial landscape of Hamilton, ON (his hometown), an aesthetic he considers "both an integral part of the city's identity and a blight on its coast."

Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Glass rings by French jeweller Gilles Jonemann, who made the two frosted ones out of bottlenecks. Any guesses as to the bottles of what, exactly? (The green one, you can probably guess; the brown one might be a bit tougher.)

Monday, May 13, 2019

All that glitters is... literally glitter, in this case, embedded in concrete by the UK's Concretely (Marta Halbichova).

Friday, May 10, 2019

"Escalator for Lilliput." Now all I need is an escalator to Lilliput.

Swiftian and soy sauce-ian rings by Melbourne-based Japanese artist Nami Chubachi.

Thursday, May 9, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Australia's bbppdesigns (Patti Pennisi).

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

These rings look like they might be polished bits of coral, but they're porcelain. They're by Italy's Letizia Maggio who, more recently...

...collaborated with Fabrizio Bonvicini on these wood & porcelain pieces.

Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Porcelain pears for your perusal.

Also available in pairs. Everything that appears above is by Romania's Atelierul de Portelan (Mihaela Speranţa Cherciu).

Monday, May 6, 2019

Hollow rings that don't ring hollow. By Turkey's Gözde Erdoğan.

Friday, May 3, 2019

Some "origametry" from Israel's Sofi Alhazov.

Thursday, May 2, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: the UK's Michelle Fernandez.

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

3D-printed, hand-painted and inspired by microbiology: "Bloom" rings by Georgia's Lot28 Design (Jocelyn DeSisto).

«  Older